ePrints@IIScePrints@IISc Home | About | Browse | Latest Additions | Advanced Search | Contact | Help

Conducting polymers: nobel prize in chemistry, 2000

Menon, Reghu (2000) Conducting polymers: nobel prize in chemistry, 2000. In: Current Science, 79 (12). pp. 1632-1635.


Download (396kB)


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2000 has been awarded to Alan J. Heeger (University of California at Santa Barbara, USA), Alan G. MacDiarmid (University of Pennsylvania, USA) and Hideki Shirakawa4 (University of Tsukuba, Japan). The citation for the reward – ‘for the discovery and development of electrically conductive polymers’. Moreover, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences pointed out that the award is being motivated by the ‘important scientific position that the field has achieved and the consequences in terms of practical applications, and of interdisciplinary development between chemistry and physics’.

Item Type: Journal Article
Publication: Current Science
Publisher: Indian Academy Sciences
Additional Information: Copyright for this article belongs to Indian Academy of Sciences.
Department/Centre: Division of Physical & Mathematical Sciences > Physics
Date Deposited: 15 Sep 2004
Last Modified: 19 Sep 2010 04:16
URI: http://eprints.iisc.ac.in/id/eprint/1982

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item